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What is provider revalidation? 

All enrolled NH Medicaid providers must revalidate their enrollment criteria every five years in 
accordance with Section 6401 of the Affordable Care Act. These regulations were published in the 
Federal Register, Vol. 76, February 2, 2011, and were effective March 25, 2011. NH Medicaid 
providers were re-enrolled beginning in the spring of 2012 in preparation for the new MMIS. 
Therefore, NH started ongoing 5-year revalidations in June 2017. 
 
Which Provider Types need to complete revalidation? 

 All provider types, whether group or individual, billing, rendering, or ordering/referring/prescribing 
must complete revalidation. 
 
I am an individual provider. Do I have to revalidate for each group with whom I am 
affiliated? 

No, an individual provider only completes one revalidation per individual provider number. 
 
Do other states have provider revalidation? 

Yes, all 50 states are mandated to perform provider revalidation. 
 
I am a Medicare provider who has revalidated with Medicare. Do I need to revalidate 
with New Hampshire Medicaid? 

Yes, you must revalidate with NH Medicaid. 
 
I am an out-of-state New Hampshire Medicaid provider and I have already revalidated 
with my home state. Do I need to revalidate with NH Medicaid? 

Yes, you must revalidate with NH Medicaid. 
 
I have already re-credentialed with one of New Hampshire Medicaid’s Managed Care 
Organizations (MCO)—New Hampshire Healthy Families, AmeriHealth and/or the Well 
Sense Health Plan. Do I need   to revalidate with New Hampshire Medicaid? 

Yes, you must revalidate with NH Medicaid, as our enrollment process is separate from the MCOs. 
Credentialing and re-credentialing is a process between the MCOs and their contracted providers. Re-
Credentialing with an MCO may take place at a different time than revalidation with NH Medicaid.  

Providers who accept NH Medicaid recipients must: 
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• Enroll and revalidate with NH Medicaid  

• Credential/re-credential with the MCOs. 

 
How will I know that I need to begin the provider revalidation process? 

When it is time to revalidate your enrollment as a provider, you will receive a revalidation notification 
letter in the mail. Notices are sent to the mailing address that is currently listed on the Medicaid ID 
tied to that provider record in MMIS that is due for revalidation. You will receive notice 60 days 
prior, 30 days prior, and on the due date.  
Need to update an address?   Please utilize our Change of Provider Information Form.   
 
How do I complete the provider revalidation process? 

The provider revalidation application is available exclusively online in the provider’s MMIS portal 
account. When it is time to revalidate your enrollment as a provider, you will receive a revalidation 
notice in the mail. Providers must log in to the NH MMIS provider portal and click the revalidation 
link. The system will guide you through the revalidation process.  
 
Need to register for portal access? Please complete the Change of Provider Information Form NH 
MMIS Health Enterprise Portal Registration section. 

 
How do I complete revalidation if I don’t have internet access? 

Providers without internet access should ask for alternate arrangements by calling the Medicaid 
Provider Call Center at (866) 291-1674 or (603) 223-4774. 

 
How long do I have to complete the revalidation process? 

You have 60 days from the date of the first revalidation notification to complete and submit the 
provider revalidation application in its entirety, with all current information. 
 
I have multiple NH Medicaid ID numbers. Do I have to do a separate revalidation for 
each of my NH Medicaid ID numbers? 

Yes, a provider is required to complete revalidation for each of their NH Medicaid ID numbers. 

 
Can I do the revalidations for my multiple NH Medicaid ID numbers at one time? 

No, providers must revalidate each Medicaid ID within each MMIS portal account. Each account due 
to revalidate will receive notice of the revalidation due date for that account. The letters are generated 
based on the date of each ID’s original enrollment. All revalidations are due approximately 5 years 
from date of enrollment with the MMIS-Health Enterprise System.  

https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.nhmmis.nh.gov%2Fportals%2Fwps%2Fwcm%2Fconnect%2F04de8918-7d95-43ec-9e9a-4200581a98e0%2FChange%2Bof%2BProvider%2BInformation%2BForm.docx%3FMOD%3DAJPERES%26CVID%3Dovz5zyv&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.nhmmis.nh.gov%2Fportals%2Fwps%2Fwcm%2Fconnect%2F04de8918-7d95-43ec-9e9a-4200581a98e0%2FChange%2Bof%2BProvider%2BInformation%2BForm.docx%3FMOD%3DAJPERES%26CVID%3Dovz5zyv&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
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I’m concerned about entering my social security number or other identifying 
information on the provider revalidation website. Is the website secure? 

Yes, the website is secure. NH Medicaid’s MMIS uses the national standard in website security 
software to ensure that the information entered onto the site is secure. 

 
Can I save my provider revalidation application and return to it later? 

Yes. There are certain points that are clearly defined in the provider revalidation process where one 
can save their work and exit the application. When ready to return to the revalidation questions, the 
user logs back into the MMIS portal and clicks on the revalidation link to continue the process.  

 
Will I need a site visit? 

All moderate and high-risk providers must have a site visit, limited providers will not need a site 
visit.  
 
If a provider has had a site visit done   by Medicare within the past 5 years, the provider does not need 
a site visit for NH Medicaid Revalidation. If you are unsure if you will be required to have a site visit 
for revalidation, please contact the DHHS Program Integrity Unit at (603) 271-8029. 

 
Can I request an extension? 

Due to stringent timelines mandated by Federal Regulations 42 CFR 455.104(c) and 42 CFR 
455.450, extensions are not granted. 
 
How will I know that my provider revalidation is complete? 

In the MMIS portal, the provider is presented with data elements from the original application that 
require verification. Once all data elements are verified or updated to reflect current information the 
provider will be presented with a signature section.  
  
The signature page section requires providers to click the print button, print the signature page, sign 
it and upload it back into the system using the upload signature page option. 
 
Once the signature page is uploaded, click the confirm button that appears. A message will display 
that the application has been submitted. You will also receive notification in the Provider Message 
Center: Provider Revalidation - For Your Records: Revalidation Data.  
 
You will receive another notification in the Provider Message Center: Provider Revalidation - 
Receipt of Your Revalidation, Thank You as well as a letter through the mail confirming completion 
of your revalidation once the State of New Hampshire has reviewed and accepted it.  
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What happens if I fail to revalidate? 

Providers who do not revalidate will be terminated with NH Medicaid Fee-for-Service, and 
subsequently with the Managed Care Organizations (MCOs). 
 
If your provider enrollment is terminated with NH Medicaid, you may re-enroll by 
submitting a new application. A new Medicaid Provider ID will be assigned, and you will 
need to re-enroll with the Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) as well. 

 
 
Does a provider need their MMIS login credentials to complete the revalidation? 

Yes, a provider must have current login credentials. If a provider has not logged into MMIS for 30 
days, the user will get a message that their account is inactive. Users who have set up security 
questions will be able to reset their password, all other users will need to contact their Org Admin to 
reset their password or provide a new login.  If you do not know your Org Admin or you are the Org 
Admin call the NH Provider Call Center to re-activate your account. If the user has not logged in for 
90+ days, the system will drop their user ID because of inactivity and the provider will have to take 
the following steps to reactivate their MMIS provider account: 

Please complete the Change of Provider Information Form NH MMIS Health Enterprise Portal 
Registration section and either mail it to the address at the top of the form, fax the form to 866-
446-3318, or send it in a secure email to NHProviderRelations@Conduent.com. 

https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.nhmmis.nh.gov%2Fportals%2Fwps%2Fwcm%2Fconnect%2F04de8918-7d95-43ec-9e9a-4200581a98e0%2FChange%2Bof%2BProvider%2BInformation%2BForm.docx%3FMOD%3DAJPERES%26CVID%3Dovz5zyv&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
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