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What is provider revalidation? 

All enrolled NH Medicaid providers must revalidate their enrollment criteria every five years in 

accordance with Section 6401 of the Affordable Care Act.  These regulations were published in the 

Federal Register, Vol. 76, February 2, 2011, and were effective March 25, 2011.  NH Medicaid 

providers were reenrolled beginning in the spring of 2012 in preparation for the new MMIS.  Therefore 

NH’s 5-year revalidation will start in June, 2017.   

 

Do other states have provider revalidation? 

Yes, all 50 states have been mandated to perform provider revalidation. 

 

I am a Medicare provider who has revalidated with Medicare.  Do I need to revalidate 

with New Hampshire Medicaid? 

Yes, you must revalidate with NH Medicaid. 

 

I am an out-of-state New Hampshire Medicaid provider and I have already revalidated 

with my home state.  Do I need to revalidate with NH Medicaid? 

Yes, you must revalidate with NH Medicaid. 

 

I have already re-credentialed with one of New Hampshire Medicaid’s Managed Care 

Plans—New Hampshire Healthy Families and/or the Well Sense Health Plan.  Do I need 

to revalidate with New Hampshire Medicaid? 

Yes, you must revalidate with NH Medicaid.   
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When does provider revalidation begin? 

NH Medicaid will begin provider revalidation in June of 2017.  Providers will not be able to start their 

revalidation until they are officially notified.   The majority of the providers will be due to revalidate in 

calendar year 2018.   

 

How will I know that I need to begin the provider revalidation process? 

When it is time to revalidate your enrollment as a provider, you will receive a revalidation notification 

letter in the mail and it will also be posted in your message center on the MMIS portal. 

 

I am an individual provider.  Do I have to revalidate for each group with whom I am 

affiliated?   

No, an individual provider only completes one revalidation per individual provider number.   

 

How do I complete the provider revalidation process? 

The provider revalidation application is available exclusively online.  When it is time to revalidate 

your enrollment as a provider, you will receive a revalidation notification letter in the mail and it will 

be posted in your message center on the MMIS portal.    Providers will log in to the NH MMIS 

provider portal and click the revalidation link.  The system will guide you through the revalidation 

process.   

 

How do I complete revalidation if I don’t have internet access? 

Providers without internet access should ask for alternate arrangements by calling the Medicaid 

Provider Call Center at (866) 291-1674 or (603) 223-4774.    

 

How long do I have to complete the revalidation process? 

You have 60 days from the date of the first revalidation notification to complete and submit the 

provider revalidation application in its entirety, with all current information. 
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I have multiple NH Medicaid ID numbers.  Do I have to do a separate revalidation for 

each of my NH Medicaid ID #s? 

Yes, a provider is required to complete revalidation for each of their NH Medicaid ID#s. 

 

Can I do the revalidations for my multiple NH Medicaid ID#s at one time? 

No, providers can only revalidate upon receipt of the Revalidation Due letter.  The letters are generated 

based on the date of each ID’s original enrollment.  All revalidations are due approximately 5 years 

from date of enrollment with the MMIS-Health Enterprise System.   

 

I’m concerned about entering my social security number or other identifying 

information on the provider revalidation website.  Is the website secure? 

Yes, the website is secure.  NH Medicaid’s MMIS uses the national standard in website security 

software to ensure that the information entered onto the site is secure.   

 

Can I save my provider revalidation application and return to it later? 

Yes.  There are certain points that are clearly defined in the provider revalidation process where one 

can save their work and exit the application.  When ready to return to one’s revalidation questions, the 

user logs back into the MMIS portal and clicks on the revalidation link.   

 

Will I need a site visit? 

All moderate and high risk providers must have a site visit.  But if a provider has had a site visit done 

by Medicare within the past 5 years, the provider does not need a site visit for NH Medicaid 

Revalidation.   If you are unsure if you will be required to have a site visit for revalidation, please 

contact the DHHS Program Integrity Unit at (603) 271-8029.   

 

Can I request an extension? 

No.  Extensions will not be granted due to the stringent timelines mandated by Federal Regulation     

42 CFR 455.104(c) and 42 CFR 455.450.    
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How will I know that my provider revalidation is complete?  

When the provider has entered all of their updates and reached the end of the data that needs to be 

validated, the signature section is displayed.  There is a print button that must be clicked to print the 

signature page.  The provider signs the printed signature page and then uploads it via the upload 

signature page option.  Once the signature page is uploaded, the confirm button appears.   When the 

provider clicks confirm submit, a message displays that the application has been submitted.  A 

provider will then get a letter stating that their revalidation has been received. 

 

What happens if I fail to revalidate? 

Providers who do not revalidate will be terminated with NH Medicaid Fee-for-Service, and 

subsequently with the Managed Care Organizations (MCOs).     

 

 

Where can I get more information about revalidation? 

The Provider Revalidation link under the MMIS Portal’s Quick Links will have up-to-date information, 

with the most recent post at the beginning of the page.  The Department of Health and Human 

Services’ website also has a page dedicated to Provider Revalidation:  

https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/ombp/medicaid/providerservices.htm  

 

Does a provider need their MMIS login credentials to complete the revalidation? 

Yes, a provider must have current login credentials.  If a provider has not logged into MMIS for 30 

days, the user will get a message that their account is inactive. The user has to call the NH Provider 

Call Center to activate their account.  If the user has not logged in for 90+ days, the system will drop 

their user ID because of inactivity and the provider will have to do the following steps:   

 

To reactivate your MMIS provider account: 

Go to nhmmis.nh.gov, click on Documents and Forms, and scroll down to the NH MMIS Health 

Enterprise Portal Registration Form.  Print, complete the form, and either mail it in to the address at 

bottom of the form or fax the form to 866-446-3318. 
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